• Priority and Focus Schools
    The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) was first passed by Congress as part of President Lyndon B. Johnson's War on Poverty. The most recent reauthorization amending ESEA is the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB). The primary function is to close the achievement gap between groups of students by requiring greater accountability and offering increased flexibility and choice. NCLB affects almost every school district and charter school in the state.
    In 2013, the Texas Education Agency filed a waiver with the US Department of Education requesting that TEA be allowed to replace the current AYP calculations and performance targets with the state’s robust accountability rating system.  State-developed plans were designed to improve educational outcomes for all students, close achievement gaps, increase equity, and improve the quality of instruction.  The Texas Education Agency's ESEA flexibility request was approved on September 30, 2013.
    Priority School Identification
    Texas Priority schools are the lowest 5% of Title I served campuses based on performance in reading and mathematics and graduation rates. Priority schools include Tier I or Tier II TTIPS schools, campuses with graduation rates less than 60% and lowest achieving campuses based on All Students reading/math performance.
    Focus School Identification
    Texas Focus schools are 10% of Title I served campuses, not already identified as priority schools, that have the widest gaps between student group performance and safeguard targets.  Campuses are ranked based on the largest gaps between student group reading/math performance and AMO targets.
    For more information on the NLCB Waiver and the identification of Priority and Focus Schools please click on the following links:
    Dina Rogers
    Education Specialist
    Gayle Parenica  
    Education Specialist
    Brenda O'Bannion
    Director of Student Support
    Charlotte Baker
    Deputy Exec. Dir. for Programs and Services

Last Modified on July 7, 2017